Home » Bishop (surname) » East Lawn Memorial Park

East Lawn Memorial Park

In addition to finding photographs from a previous visit to New Bethel Presbyterian Church, I also recently discovered some photographs I had taken visiting East Lawn Memorial Park in Kingsport, Tennessee.

East Lawn Memorial Park is located in Kingsport on Memorial Boulevard (Tennessee Route 126) about 3 miles (5 km) east of its intersection with Tennessee Route 96 (the John B. Dennis Highway). It is about 2 miles (3 km) west of Indian Springs.

East Lawn is an extremely large cemetery, covering more than 62 acres (250,000 square meters). For this reason it can be a bit difficult to find graves without guidance. My notes  are quite incomplete, unfortunately, and I will update this when I have better directions.

Based on correspondence with the East Lawn Funeral Home staff, the graves of my great-grandparents William T. Bishop and Ivanell Bishop are located together in the “Garden of Christus” section, in Lot 12 spaces 26 and 28 respectively.

Based on my photographs from November 2014 (on a trip I took to Kingsport for my grandmother Archer’s 80th birthday party), their grave is in the northernmost part of the cemetery about 50 meters east of a small outbuilding and about the same distance south-southwest of the northern gate of the cemetery.

Several other family graves are located in this cemetery. For example, the graves of Worley Sam Bishop (Bill’s brother) and his wife Jackie are located toward the center of the graveyard, near the mausoleum.

The graves of Rev. Gary D. Bishop (“Uncle Topper”, my grandmother’s younger brother) and his second wife, Betty Ferrell Bishop, are also located in this cemetery, in the Garden of Prayer, Lot 71B, spaces 1 and 2. However, I do not have photographs of these graves from my 2014 visit.

I visited again this past weekend but the heavy rain was very discouraging. Hopefully, on another trip to Kingsport, I will be able to get more photographs and better measurements and maps to these graves.

One thought on “East Lawn Memorial Park

  1. Pingback: Kingsport Cemetery Updates, June 2020 | Archerology

Leave a comment